30 Days + 50,000 Words. My NaNoWriMo Experience.

On November 1st, 2016 I started a journey that seemed nearly impossible to finish. Was it really going to be possible to write 50,000 words in such a short amount of time? I went into this with no real expectations, a blank piece of paper and an idea I’ve been sitting on for the past 5 years. Somehow now seemed to be the appropriate time to bring this story to life.

The first few days I was lucky to get 1000 words, but soon I was able to find my rhythm, my groove. Even with life sometimes getting the better of me, I made sure that I devoted time every day to sit down and write. As I soared past 20,000 words, 30,000 words, the challenge didn’t seem so far fetched to me anymore. Perhaps I would be able to pull this off after all!

There was a time when I was around my 40,000 word mark that I felt as though everything I had written was a huge pile of steaming crap. How could I produce such nonsense? How could I keep on going and writing when it was clearly just a waste of time? It was one of those self doubting moments, but I believe all creative forces have that happen to them. Instead of giving in and letting the negatives get to me (I’m not even sure they truly existed to begin with), I decided to keep pushing forward.

As of today, Wednesday November 30th I have reached my goal, 50,070 words. In fact my story hasn’t even come to its conclusion, so I will keep going above and beyond my initial goal. I feel like I have accomplished something extraordinary, and I am glad that I pushed myself to continue on this journey.

Now I am seeing a brand new world. Anything is possible. I know that sounds like a running cliche, but it’s true. Our minds are amazing, and once there is passion and creativity involved, there are marvellous things to be bestowed upon the world.

I’m going to keep writing, and keep pushing towards my dreams.

You should too.

Never. Stop. Creating.

C.A. Gallinger

 

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_winner

Leave a Reply

