The “Big P”- The Struggle is Real

Now you may be wondering what I could possibly be talking about. It’s quite simple really, you know those moments when you need to get things done, be focused and productive, but you just can’t bring yourself to pull away from reruns of Friends? That’s the “Big P”, also referred to as “Procrastination”.

I have the best of intentions to get things done. It all starts out very innocently, going through some old notebooks and getting lost in distant memories, and then it moves onward to “I wonder if that one person I used to occasionally used to hang out with in 7th grade is still around.” And then you find yourself online, and we know how easy it can be to get lost in those endless pages. Then it’s time to check into twitter, log on to email and see that there are 2000 messages that I was supposed to sort from earlier in the month.

And you see, it just keeps going and going from there, and then the hours have run out in the day. There’s always a viable excuse as to why it can be done tomorrow, or next week, or the week after. It’s so easy to get caught in a rut like that. That’s where I am currently. December has been full of ruts and the urge to permanently hibernate under my covers.

There is so much going on, so much to do, but sometimes being an adult isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. And that’s where the “Big P” swoops in and tries to rescue the overwhelmed, making it worse off than it was before. I used to fight tooth and nail, to force myself to get things done, but when you are not motivated there seems to be no point.

I’ve learned to make peace with the “Big P” over the years. It’s not always a bad thing to stop and “smell the roses”, especially when life has been so chaotic. In a way it helps put things into perspective. Or at least that’s what I keep telling myself. We need the ruts and the mindless distractions, it helps us reset the balance that has been lost.

Now if you excuse me, Netflix is calling my name.

C.A. Gallinger

Leave a Reply

