Reclaiming The Lost

A brand new year is upon us. Most people mark this as a new beginning, and a time to transform your life. I have no set plans for this year, I think that one should consistently working on themselves, not just reserve it for one little moment. It’s easy to say you’re going to do something, harder to actually go out and do it. It’s one of the reasons I don’t make new years resolutions. I feel like I am setting up myself for failure when I make them, because rarely do I go out and achieve them.

But I have set up goals for me, in my daily life. Not resolving anything, just trying to better myself as a person, inside and out. It’s something that is a long-term thing, not just something to start in January. Instead of resolutions, I am calling them goals. It leaves more wiggle room for alternations. It’s a choice not a commitment.

So here goes, these are the goals I have set out for myself:

  • Take bigger risks, both in my writing life and my personal life.
  • Write every single day. No excuses. There is always time for things you enjoy.
  • Be kinder to myself.
  • Focus on growth of the mind, body and spirit. Finding that happy medium where things just fall into place.
  • Worry less and enjoy the little things more.
  • Put myself first. It’s not selfish, self-love is a positive force.
  • Bring healthy changes into my life. Inside and out.
  • Be more patient. It takes hard work to get anywhere, it doesn’t happen over night.
  • Be true to myself and what really makes me happy.

Basically, this is the time for change and acceptance. I have often put myself on the back burner, but it’s time to reclaim myself. For the sake of the people around me and my own well being. It’s never too late to take a chance on yourself, but it’s so hard to get to that point where you see that you ARE worth it. You deserve to be happy. You deserve good things to happen.

I am going to leap into the unknown. I hope you do as well.

 

C.A. Gallinger

 

 

Leave a Reply

