Dawn-to-Dark Musings: 2017-01-28

It has been one of those weeks. You know the ones where you lose complete sense of time and direction. I lost a whole day, Thursday, and I have no idea where that time got off to. It’s as though my mind is being pulled in so many directions, it’s hard to keep up and focus on one thing at a time.

Now is the time to slow down. Breathe and reevaluate the important things in life. I feel as though I have been putting myself and my needs on the back burner. It’s easy when you are a parent, there is always some sort of excuse to justify such behaviour. But in the long run, it brings more hindrance than anything and usually backfires.

It’s okay to do things for yourself, I preach that often enough, but often forget my own words when it comes to my own well being. There is nothing wrong with self-love and wanting to do good things for yourself. It doesn’t men you are a selfish person, it means that you are striving to bring positive forces into your world and that is a good thing.

Instead of giving into the chaos of a perilous week, I will move forward and try my best to stop and take it all in before I get overwhelmed, that’s when issues really start to pop up. Stress is a killer and it’s not worth it.

I’ve been writing a lot, or at least trying to.

My poetry series “Blissful Sorrow” has been updated on Channillo. You can find my new poem “Simple Death” on there now. 

Don’t sweat the small stuff. That’s my goal for this week, how about you?

 

C.A. Gallinger

Leave a Reply

