Dawn-to-Dark Musings

Dawn-to-Dark Musings: 2017/03/08

Being idle can be such a dangerous thing, not only for the body but for the mind as well. It is so easy to get trapped into the easy way of dealing with life, pretending as though the harsh reality doesn’t exist and everything is in a state of perpetual joy.

But it’s not fine, I’m not fine and I don’t want to be fine. I want to be something better than that, better than my lazy thoughts. Dreams are just that, dreams, unless you are lucky enough to be living them, that’s another story. But I am not living my dream, and chances are many of you are not either. It’s so easy to get lost along the way, well life gets in the way.

In no way is this a bad thing. Things that used to be important take a back burner to other impertinent issues that exist in the here and now. Sometimes it’s not that simple, sometimes our minds change and we grow into something new. An evolved version of our former self. And there is nothing wrong with that.

I think we put so much pressure on ourselves to go out there and give it our all. It’s like we are afraid of being mediocre, mundane, boring. But that is life. This is how the real world works. Could you imagine having grand adventures everyday? I’m sure it would get quite tiresome. I’m exhausted just thinking about it.

I haven’t given up on my dreams or bigger goals, it’s just taking longer to achieve them. Being steadfast and slow is one way to truly take all you can get out of this life, take it all at face value and welcome it with open arms. Or something like that. But what do I know? I’m just some hack writer who needs to take a nap.

 

C.A. Gallinger

Leave a comment