Melodic Monday Introduction

It’s a monday, what better day to discuss music and the way it flows freely through the universe. I use music a lot when I am writing, it helps open up the proverbial flood gates. I am constantly adding songs to my “writing playlist”. It’s a lovely way to combine all creative forces. So I dub Monday’s, Melodic Monday’s on my blog. Each week I will feature a song or song(s) (depending on how ambitious I am), that resonate with me.

 

This week it’s “Harder Than Stone” by City and Colour;

 

Although this is a lyric video and the words are right there for you to see in all their glory, I shall post them on here as well.

 

“Someday I will walk away
When time ain’t drawing on me like a blade
Back turned to the setting sun
Leaving behind Toronto’s incessant hum

‘Cause I was born and raised
To live beyond
The heft and weight
Of a world undone

But I don’t mean to be a bother
I don’t need you to take my burden away
And I ain’t afraid of dying
Cold and alone

Traipsing though the utter dark
Walking underneath the dead moonlight
Without any great concern
For what I’ve missed or how many bridges have burned

Like a bird who flies
Away from the North
My heart will roam
In search of warmth

But I don’t mean to be a bother
I don’t need you to take my burden away
And I ain’t afraid of dying
Cold and alone

When my time comes
When I was young
I didn’t know too much
I thought that I could rule the world

Then I grew up
And found out life was hard
Harder than stone.”

Harder Than Stone – City and Colour

If you have never heard of City and Colour, I highly recommend immersing yourself in the world that is Dallas Green. He is a remarkable musician and has a haunting voice that shakes you to the core. I am sure his creations will pop up quite frequently on these music Monday’s.

Do you write with songs playing in the background? If so, what are your favourite’s?

Until next Monday!

C.A. Gallinger

Leave a Reply

