Melodic Monday: “Nothing Left”

This week we are going a little hardcore. It may not be for everyone, but that’s the beauty about music, everyone has their own eclectic tastes, and this one just happens to be one of mine. But I am sure you will see that more and more as I make these posts.

This week it’s one of my favourite songs by As I Lay Dying. It’s strong and makes the heart ache. You can feel the pain in these words.

Nothing Left” – As I Lay Dying:

 

“This world was never worthy
But how can I call it unfaithful
Every promise was fulfilled
As decay crawled from it’s throat
Like the dead rising from an open grave
Lips of splendor and tongue of deceit
All dying now as our fragile wrists hold only waste

Like those gasping for their last breath
We cannot hide there’s nothing left

If All my sorrow has led me here
Then I would cry all of my tears
To have this chance again
And know there’s more than this
And know there’s more than you

Like those gasping for their last breath
We cannot hide there’s nothing left”

The words are twisted and lovely all at the same time. Just like a lot of my writing, I dig in to the deeper, darker parts of myself to bring the inner struggles to the surface. It’s easier to face them that way.

What are some of your more eclectic tastes in music?

Until next week!

C.A. Gallinger

Leave a Reply

