Melodic Monday: “Sleeping Sickness”

I am sure as I go along with this series, I will be featuring City and Colour a lot. Dallas Green has a haunting voice that speaks volumes. It touches your heart in soul in such a way you can’t stop but think and listen.

This particular song he collaborated with the iconic Gord Downie from The Tragically Hip. They come together in such a masterful way, this is one for the repeat button. The lyrics speak for themselves.

 

“Sleeping Sickness” – City and Colour

 

“I awoke, only to find my lungs empty
And through the night, so it seems I’m not breathing
And now my dreams, are nothing like they were meant to be
And I’m breaking down, I think I’m breaking down
 
And I’m afraid, to sleep because of what haunts me
Such as, living with the uncertainty
That’ll never find the words to say
Which would completely explain, just how I’m breaking down
 
 
Someone come and, someone come and save my life
Maybe I’ll sleep when I am dead but now it’s like the night is taking sides
And all the worries that occupy the back of my mind
Could it be, this misery will suffice
 
 
I’ve become, a simple souvenir of someone’s kill
Like the sea, I’m constantly changing from calm to ill
Madness fills my heart and soul as if the
Great divide could swallow me whole, oh how I’m breaking down
 
 
Someone come and, someone come and save my life
Maybe I’ll sleep when I am dead but now it’s like the night is taking sides
And all the worries that occupy the back of my mind
Could it be, this misery will suffice
 
 
Someone come and, someone come and save my life
Someone come and, someone come and save my life
Someone come and, someone come and save my life
Could it be, this misery will suffice”
 
 
 

This words are something I think most people can relate with. How many times have you been stuck in the darkness, pleading for someone to help you out? Hoping that you can be saved from the destruction that has befallen life. It’s a feeling of helplessness. We all just want to be heard and cared for.

We can all expose our inner turmoil.

Until next Monday!

C.A. Gallinger

 

Leave a Reply

